3515b+6.21/6.16 not being able to type out/input unicode

Known Issues, Bugs Reports, and Work Arounds

Moderators: L|B, cryoa, Riamus, XMog

3515b+6.21/6.16 not being able to type out/input unicode

Postby GoGlay » Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:04 pm

when I type chinese or japanese, it always shows "??", but I can see it when other people type it, I just can't type it myself.
I tried a fresh copy of 6.21 on another comp and unicode input works fine

is there anyway to make invision script support unicode?
GoGlay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby Riamus » Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:06 pm

Sounds like you need to turn it on in mIRC's options. This isn't affected by Invision. If you need more help with Unicode and SJIS and such, I'd recommend asking on the mIRC.com forums as it's a mIRC issue and not an Invision one and I don't use it, so have no suggestions for you.
You can find me at #Invision on irc.irchighway.net or #OldGames on irc.undernet.org if you need me for anything.
User avatar
Riamus
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby GoGlay » Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:23 am

the mIRC optoins are turned on, like i said in the original post, a fresh copy/install of mIRC works fine. it is AFTER i install invision, it stopped working
GoGlay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby Riamus » Tue Jan 30, 2007 6:33 am

And how did you install Invision? Did you follow the steps outlined in the Sticky?

I don't use those options, so I can't help you more than that.
You can find me at #Invision on irc.irchighway.net or #OldGames on irc.undernet.org if you need me for anything.
User avatar
Riamus
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Postby GoGlay » Wed Feb 28, 2007 1:32 pm

well, I just tried a fresh install of mIRC 6.21 + 3515B, I followed the install instructions step by step really carefully this time.

Still though, I can not get unicode to print out, I can see it when other people type it, but when ever I type it it just shows "??"
GoGlay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:01 pm

Postby Riamus » Wed Feb 28, 2007 2:24 pm

Well, the best I can suggest would be to install mIRC into a separate folder, test it to make sure the text works correctly, and then copy the EXE and mIRC.INI into your Invision folder (while Invision isn't running). This will mean that you need to adjust any mIRC settings you have, but don't do so until you test the unicode. If that still doesn't work, then I am not really sure.

If you have Visufix enabled, you might try disabling it just to see what happens. It should be an issue, but it's worth a shot. Beyond that, try changing Invision's settings around and see if you can get it to work after disabling something.
You can find me at #Invision on irc.irchighway.net or #OldGames on irc.undernet.org if you need me for anything.
User avatar
Riamus
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA


Return to Bugs and Fixes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests

cron