Incorrect System Info

Known Issues, Bugs Reports, and Work Arounds

Moderators: L|B, cryoa, Riamus, XMog

Incorrect System Info

Postby RCL0000ZK » Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:11 am

I'm currently using Invision 3.1.1 (June '09) Full Bundle. (No restore from previous version)
I'm using Windows XP SP3 Pro. with all latest updates.

When I right click on the screen -> Display Private -> System Info, I get

Code: Select all
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> Current System Configuration
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3 up for 2 hours, 8 minutes 2 seconds
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> CPU/RAM: Intel Pentium III Xeon processor Quad Core with Currently 0 of 2048MB in use which is 0.00%
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> Storage System: 931.51GB Internet Connection: n/a
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> Display System: 512MB NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT using a Dell SP2309W(Digital) monitor at 2048x1152 32bit color 60Hz refresh

Here, the CPU/RAM info is wrong. The correct info should be:

Code: Select all
[9:29:03pm] <Wolverine> CPU/RAM: Intel Core i7 920 processor Quad Core with Currently ** of 3064MB in use which is *%


How do I correct this?
RCL0000ZK
Member
Member
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 9:19 pm

Re: Incorrect System Info

Postby Riamus » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:36 pm

You can manually enter it in Personalization > Info. However, the CPU information you see is what the CPU manufacturer has it listed as *on the chip*. Just because it is sold as something else from some third party company doesn't change the fact that Intel's description of it is correct. As far as memory, keep in mind that Windows only sees a certain amount of memory depending on your OS, Service Pack, and certain modifications that you can do. For example, even if your motherboard supports 4GB of RAM (or more) and you have it installed, it's not going to be used by any version of XP. I'm not sure if 3GB is used by XP or not.

Again, you can manually enter the information you want displayed in Personalization, but what you see isn't really "incorrect"... it's what Windows reports.
You can find me at #Invision on irc.irchighway.net or #OldGames on irc.undernet.org if you need me for anything.
User avatar
Riamus
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1783
Joined: Fri May 03, 2002 9:01 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA


Return to Bugs and Fixes

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron